Entry to social care: the Common Induction Standards

If you are new to the health and social care sector, there are a number of areas you must be trained in before you can work unsupervised. These are known as the Common Induction Standards, and they are essential for anyone starting a career in social care.

The Common Induction Standards are designed to reflect current policy and practice within the sector, and give new staff a comprehensive and standardised induction into their new roles. They feed in perfectly to more advanced training courses such as the QCF NVQ Diploma in Health and Social Care (Level 2), offering a more consistent approach to induction and training across the whole of the sector.

So, what are the Common Induction Standards?

There are eight standards, each representing an area of knowledge that you must be well-versed in before you can really get your career started.

1 Role of the health and social care worker
2 Personal development
3 Communicate effectively
4 Equality and Inclusion
5 Principles for implementing duty of care
6 Principles of safeguarding in health and social care
7 Person-centred support
8 Health and safety in an adult social care setting

If you study these eight areas in depth, you will have taken the first important step to delivering high-quality care and support.

Training Article  Care homes to banish bad press in National Care Home Open Day

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *