Mandatory Training Courses – What are they?

Mandatory training relates to training that employers are expected to provide to their staff following statutory requirements.  Statutory requirements include the Health and Safety at Work Act, local authority requirements, and the requirements specified by the Care Quality Commission.

All care organisations have a legal responsibility to provide staff with Health and Safety Awareness training, including Fire Safety. Moving and Handling training is also mandatory and if staff are involved with preparing food or assisting at meal times then Food Safety and Hygiene training will also be mandatory.

A list of courses and their mandatory requirements are shown below;

  • Equality & Diversity – Equality Act 2010 & Human Rights Act 1998
  • Fire Safety – Regulatory Reform (Fire Safety) Order 2005 & Statutory requirement (Health & Safety at Work Act 1974)
  • Health and Safety – Statutory requirement (Health & Safety at Work Act 1974)
  • Human Rights – Equality Act 2010 & Human Rights Act 1998
  • Manual Handling – Manual Handling Operations Regulations, 1992 as amended, and Management of Health and Safety at Work Regulations, 1999
  • Safeguarding Adults – Care Quality Commission (CQC)
  • Safeguarding Children – Care Quality Commission (CQC)

For Care providers, there is a difference between the courses that would be considered mandatory for the organisation and courses that are provided for Care Staff in order for them to gain a Care Certificate. To receive the Care Certificate, care staff workers will need to train in and achieve minimum pass marks in ALL the 15 standards. These 15 standards include;

  1. Understand your role
  2. Your personal development
  3. Duty of care
  4. Equality and diversity
  5. Work in a person centred way
  6. Communication
  7. Privacy and dignity
  8. Fluids and nutrition
  9. Awareness of mental health, dementia and learning disabilities
  10. Safeguarding adults
  11. Safeguarding children
  12. Basic life support
  13. Health and safety
  14. Handling information
  15. Infection prevention and control

For experienced care staff, this will mean updating their knowledge and skillset with the new terminology and practices as appropriate. All new staff, those having never worked in social care before, will need to be trained in all 15 standards before they are awarded with a Care Certificate.  Care home’s require staff to have a Care Certificate to operate.

Depending upon the sector you are in optional or additional mandatory training modules may include:

  • Basic Life Saving skills
  • Complaints Handling
  • Deprivation of Liberty Safeguards (DOLS)
  • Dementia Awareness
  • Documentation and Record Keeping
  • First Aid Training
  • Food Hygiene/Safety
  • Learning Disability Awareness
  • Lone Working Awareness
  • Mental Capacity (MCA)
  • Mental Health Awareness

TutorCare offers a Mandatory Training bundle for both the Care Certificate and the Care environment which includes training for all these subjects either individually or as a package deal. Beyond these mandatory courses for your sector, additional training will depend entirely on specifics of your organisation. There may also be additional requirements depending on your local authority.

For further information relating to optional and mandatory training courses please see;

NHS – Royal College of Nursing
HSE (Health and Safety Executive)

Training Article  Understanding the main principles of health and safety risk assessment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *